OPC’s – This is when the really big shift happened!!

OPC’S or Oligomeric Proanthocyanidins.  OPC’s are a class of flavonoid complexes and they act as antioxidants (free radical scavengers)  in the human body.

The following is From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. – An antioxidant is a molecule capable of slowing or preventing the oxidation of other molecules. Oxidation is a chemical reaction that transfers electrons from a substance to an oxidizing agent. Oxidation reactions can produce free radicals, which start chain reactions that damage cells. Antioxidants terminate these chain reactions by removing free radical intermediates, and inhibit other oxidation reactions by being oxidized themselves.

There is an immense amount of information available regarding free radical damage, antioxidants and OPC’s. 

 A particularly powerful antioxidant is Pycnogenol (pic-naj-en-all).  This is a direct quote from the website http://www.pycnogenol.com/consumer/.   “A natural plant extract from the bark of the french maritime pine tree which grows exclusively along the coast of southwest France in Les Landes de Gascogne.

This unspoiled and natural forest environment is the unique source of Pycnogenol®. Pycnogenol® represents a natural combination of genetically programmed constant proportions of procyanidins, bioflavonoids and organic acids.

The extract has four basic properties – it’s a powerful antioxidant, acts as a natural anti-inflammatory, selectively binds to collagen and elastin, and finally, it aids in the production of endothelial nitric oxide which helps to dilate blood vessels.”

Why am I telling you about OPC’s?  Because after 3 years and thousands of dollars spent out of pocket (pic-naj-en-all) made the greatest single shift in my health and wellbeing.  I began taking a product containing Pycnogenol and within 3 weeks I knew something had dramatically changed in my body. 

My energy level skyrocketed from where it had been and it has taken me a long time to begin to accept that this wasn’t going to go away.  The muscle spasms in my legs had worsened over a six month period prior to taking the OPC’s and I was beginning to fear that I might have to start taking drugs.  The pain and spasms would have me up 3 to 6 times a night for 20 to 30 minutes each time.  Within 3 weeks of taking OPC’s the spasms were gone and it has been 2 years, 9 months and they have not returned.

Don’t get me wrong,  many of the other modalities that I had used or was using at the time did help.  But none of them to the level and magnitude of the OPC’s.  I am not a doctor or scientist but after researching how damaging free radicals can be to the human body it made perfect sense to me that I responded the way I did.  Irregardless, I can’t ignore what has happened to my energy level and the complete disappearance of the night pain and spasms in my legs. 

Remember, I was still morbidly obese and far from reaching my goals of achieving an extremely healthy body but at least now I had a chance.  There are many factors that influence our health and this was a huge one for me and it has given me a second chance. 

So OPC’s in Isotonix form is what helped place me back on the path to total health and wellbeing. 

If you go to the site below;   http://www.marketamerica.com/karamyers/categories-415/antioxidants.htm  then Click on the picture of the Isotonix OPC-3.  Then Click on View All Details.  Below you can view Benefits, Ingredients, Science, Uniqueness, and below that is, view product demo.  This gives you a 1-2 minugd video for those who want a quick glimpse of information.

Isotonic, which means “same pressure,” bears the same chemical resemblance of the body’s blood, plasma and tears. All fluids in the body have a certain concentration, referred to as osmotic pressure. The body’s common osmotic pressure, which is isotonic, allows a consistent maintenance of body tissues. In order for a substance to be absorbed and used in the body’s metabolism, it must be transported in an isotonic state.

Isotonix® dietary supplements are delivered in an isotonic solution. This means that the body has less work to do to in obtaining maximum absorption. The isotonic state of the suspension allows nutrients to pass directly into the small intestine and be rapidly absorbed into the bloodstream. With Isotonix products, little nutritive value is lost, making the absorption of nutrients highly efficient while delivering maximum results.

So OPC’s jump started ‘Kara’s Journey To Health’ and it’s far from over.  Hope you glean some helpful information from this blog and I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours in Health & Wellness – Kara Myers

Leave a Reply

